horizontal bar


Alexander O'Neal

horizontal bar

Biography Discography Videos


Soul TracksSoul Tracks
R and B HavenR and B Haven

horizontal bar

O'Neal was born in Natchez, Mississippi, but moved to Minneapolis when he was 20. He joined a group called "The Mystics" and played the local coverband circuit. O'Neal spent a short time in a group "Enterprise" before being recruited into Flyte Tyme, a band that included Jimmy Jam, Terry Lewis and Monte Moir. Later signed by Prince to the Warner Bros. label with their name changed to The Time, a disagreement with Prince led to O'Neal leaving the band and being replaced as lead singer by Morris Day. Allmusic profiler John Floyd asserts that O'Neal was ousted for "looking 'too black'".

O'Neal immediately formed a rock and roll band called Alexander and recorded a 12" single, "Playroom", for a Chicago-based independent label. Three years later, in 1984, O'Neal signed a deal with Clarence Avant's Tabu Records. He did some backing vocals for other artists on the same label, including The SOS Band and Cherrelle.

O'Neal released his self-titled debut album in 1985. It included three singles that reached the top twenty of the R&B Singles Chart. He also scored his first R&B top ten single with "Saturday Love", a duet with Cherrelle. The song peaked at #2. It also reached the top ten of the UK Singles Chart, peaking at #6. In 1987, he released the album titled Hearsay. It yielded the #25 pop and #1 R&B single "Fake". The song also peaked at #7 on the dance chart. The follow up, "Criticize", peaked at #4 R&B and #70 pop. It also peaked at #4 on the UK Singles Chart. The third single, "Never Knew Love Like This", another duet with Cherelle, peaked at #2 R&B and #28 pop.

In 1991, he released his third album, All True Man. The album's title single reached #5 on the R&B chart and #45 on the pop chart. In 1992, his first greatest hits album, This Thing Called Love: The Greatest Hits of Alexander O'Neal, was a top ten album in the UK. In 1993, his final album with the Tabu label, Love Makes No Sense, was released. It was the first album made without production from Jam and Lewis. In 1995, another greatest hits compilation, The Best of Alexander O'Neal, was released.

In 1996, his first album with One World Records, Lovers Again, was released. In 2001, he released an album with Eagle Records, Saga of a Married Man. The album was produced by former Prince drummer, Bobby Z. In 2005, he recorded his first live album, Alexander O'Neal Live at Hammersmith Apollo. It is a collection of many of his songs from throughout his career.

O'Neal participated on the reality British reality singing contest show Just the Two of Us in 2006 and 2007. In 2008, he released Alex Loves, his first studio album in six years. In 2008, O'Neal took part in a Wife Swap UK special, swapping his wife Cynthia with broadcaster and TV personality Jilly Goolden.

-- LyricFreaks

Never Knew Love Like This
All True Man

horizontal bar

1985Alexander O'Neal
1988My Gift To You
1991All True Man
1993Love Makes No Sense
1997Lovers Again
2002Saga Of A Married Man
2005Live! At The Hammersmith
2008Alex Loves
2010Five Questions: The New Journey


horizontal bar

1985 Alexander O'Neal

01. A Broken Heart Can Mend
02. If You Were Here Tonight
03. Do You Wanna Like I Do
04. Look At Us Now
05. Medley: Innocent/Alex900
06. What's Missing
07. You Were Meant To Be My Lady

1986 Hearsay

01. Intro
02. (what can I say)To Make You Love Me
03. Hearsay
04. The Lovers
05. Fake
06. Criticize
07. Intro
08. Never Knew Love Like This
09. Sunshine
10. Crying Overtime
11. When The Party's Over

1988 My Gift To You

01. My Gift To You
02. Sleigh Ride
03. Our First Christmas
04. Remember Why (it's Christmas)
05. The Little Drummer Boy
06. The Christmas Song
07. This Christmas
08. Winter Wonderland
09. Thank You For A Good Year
10. Remember Why It's Christmas (reprise)

1991 All True Man

01. Time Is Running Out
02. The Yoke (G. U. O. T. R.)
03. Every Time I Get Up
04. Somebody Changed Your Mind
05. Midnight Run
06. Used
07. All True Man
08. Sentimental
09. What Is This Thing Called Love
10. The Morning After
11. Hang On
12. Shame
horizontal bar

1993 Love Makes No Sense

01. In The Middle
02. If U Let It
03. Aphrodisia
04. Love Makes No Sense
05. Home Is Where The Heart Is
06. Change Of Heart
07. Lady
08. All That Matters To Me
09. Since I've Been Loving You
10. Your Precious Love

1997 Lovers Again

01. Do You Right
02. Let's Get Together
03. Lovers Again
04. Can You Stand The Rain
05. Baby, Come To Me
06. No One But You
07. Body Talking
08. More Than My Heart
09. Sleepin'
10. Carry On
11. Sneakin'
12. Our Love
13. Grind

2002 Saga Of A Married Man

01. He Said She Said
02. You're Gonna Miss Me
03. I'm There
04. My Baby's Gone
05. It Don't Matter
06. It's OK
07. What You See Is What You Get
08. Married Man
09. What Is A Man?
10. Last Night
11. Happy Home

2005 Live! At The Hammersmith

01. Innocent
02. Hearsay
03. What Can I say To Make You Love Me
04. A Broken Heart Can Mend
05. The Lovers
06. All True Man
07. Sentimental
08. Shame On Me
09. Sunshine
10. Criticize
11. Bedscene
12. If You Were Here Tonight
13. Fake
14. What Is This Thing Called Love
horizontal bar

2008 Alex Loves

01. Secret Lovers
02. A Million Love Songs
03. Right Here Waiting
04. Unbreak My Heart
05. Your Song
06. Saturday Love
07. If You Were Here Tonight
08. What You Won't Do For Love
09. When A Man Loves A Woman
10. Babe
11. Always And Forever
12. You're The First, The Last, My Everything
13. Cherish
14. I'll Make Love To You
15. We're On Our Way

2010 Five Questions: The New Journey

01. My House
02. I'm Back
03. Minnesota Shuffle
04. I Found True Love
05. I Can't Wait
06. You Make Me Smile
07. Love Don't Love Nobody
08. It's Your Night Tonight
09. Love Won't Let Me Wait
10. 5 Questions
11. First Time

horizontal bar



Graphics by YSM

horizontal bar